Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed
print cuaderno de viaje

French Way

The pilgrim route par excellence has two branches, depending on the piligrims’ point of entry from France.

The main French Way: Having reached Saint Jean Pied de Port (France), the pilgrims travel 774 kilometres in Spain, passing through the provinces of Navarre, La Rioja, Burgos, Palencia, Leon, Lugo and A Coruña. At an average of 20-25 kilometres daily, it usually takes about 30 days to reach Santiago.

The route began to be signposted with yellow arrows in the eighties, thanks to the parish priest of O Cebreiro, Elías Valiña, and the Association of the Friends of the Navarre Way. This first symbol is now accompanied by milestones and each region’s institutional signs.

Roncesvalles – Pamplona – Puente La Reina – Estella – Logroño – Nájera – Santo Domingo de la Calzada – Burgos – Castrojeriz - Carrión de los Condes – Frómista – Sahagún – León – Astorga – Ponferrada and then they enter Galicia via O Cebreiro – Samos – Sarria – Portomarín – Palas de Reis – Melide – Arzúa – Santiago de Compostela.

The other branch enters Spain from France via Somport, in Aragon, and continues through the provinces of Huesca, Zaragoza and Navarre before reaching -after 6 days and 167 kilometres- Puente La Reina, where it joins the French Way.

Somport – Canfranc – Jaca – Sangüesa – Lumbier – Puente La Reina.


Image gallery

French Way
French Way